Fourth appointment: Audiology Cochlear clinic

Note: this actually happened on the 6th of Feb but I forgot to post it to the blog oops!

Today was the mystery audiology clinic appointment. Well mystery solved it was hearing tests mainly. 

The first two tests were set up with a row of monitors and speakers in a semi circle arc type thing. I sat in this circle and watched a video of a guy speaking to me (it was only in the monitor right in front of me the others were not used for my test anyway). The idea was to simply repeat anything he said that I understood. I had to do it both with my hearing aids and without. Seriously stressful for me I hate having to strain to understand strangers  

The other hearing test was the standard test they give you all the time, anybody who has been to an audiology clinic will know what I’m on about but it’s basically they give you a button, you listen to sounds either via headphones or a speaker and you press the button when you hear something. 

After that it was a questionnaire with questions like how your hewing effects your life (social situations, work and so on).  

So that was that! Next up is some sort of “Candidate day” organised by the company Cochlear (the manufacturers of the implant I think I’m getting) I suspect it’s some sort of sales pitch but what the hell eh?

Leave a comment