Third Appointment: MRI scan

So I lied a little about the next cochlear appointment in my last post, actually got another appointment the day after posting it a MRI scan on Tuesday.

Not a lot different from the CT scan I had just a few points though:

  • Had to remove everything metal, glasses, hearing aids even my belt.
  • Had to fill in a questionnaire about my health nothing to probing just if you have any implants (not yet!) or had any metal in your body, its all about the metal!
  • They offered me ear plugs, put them in anyway but I doubt it would of made any difference.
  • They put this plastic frame thing over my head to keep my head still, sorta reminded me of a medieval torture device, if they were plastic.
  • The actual scanning tube thing is tight, not sure if they had me higher up in the tube to get my head closer to the actual scanner but lying down with my arms on my chest caused them to touch the top of the tube when getting pushed in so yeah you will probably want to keep them at your side.
  • The thing vibrates quite a bit, so it must generate a bit of noise (hence the ear plugs)
  • Was in the tube for about 10-15 min, its a little bit disorientating at first but then its just boring since its just a white plastic tube with a grey sticker stuck at the top of it. Did not feel a thing other then boredom.

Next appointment is the mysterious audiology appointment, assuming another appointment does not come in between then.

Leave a comment